SCSI disk not detected (Ubuntu 7.10)

I am new to Ubuntu and Linux, but have used Unix way back in the 90’s.

Ubuntu is very easy to use, but to my surprise it would not detect a SCSI controller, disk or scanner that I want to use. The controller is Adaptec 1540C and I need this to be able to use an HP Photosmart C5100C scanner that has a SCSI interface.

The Xsane front end for the scanner in Ubuntu does not see the scanner, and the dmesg log confirms the device is not detected. I also tried attaching a disk, which I know works OK, to the SCSI bus, and still Ubuntu does not detect anything.

According to the Xsane project website, both Adaptec 1540C and HP Photosmart scanner do work with Xsane backend.

So what is going on? I have searche the Ubuntu documentation and the formums, and I posted a message on the Hardware forum, but no luck.

Any suggestions to fix this will be greatly appreciated.

Frank Bokhorst

ISA...

The AHA-1540C is an old ISA card. You’ll probably need to pass it’s module exactly the right parameters (IRQ, IO Address, etc.).

There are some old TLDP SCSI Howtos out there, don’t know how helpful it’ll be.

But to be honest, you aren’t going to find too many LEGgers who even know that ISA once existed, never mind having experience configuring it. You’ll be better off asking for help on CLUG-Tech.

Personally, I’d try and get my hands on a PCI controller. I haven’t had any success getting ISA devices working in Linux machines, the last few times I tried. (It doesn’t help that the mechanisms to set them up has changed since the day of ISA…)

Thanks for pointing this

Thanks for pointing this out! I didn’t think the AT bus would be a problem, but of course even though the SCSI bus is a separate thing, the AHA-1540C plugs into an AT slot…